Eureka! Falling in Love Again.

I have found it!

Last week I complained that I was just not that into a popular book, and that my inability to finish it had put a serious kink in my desire to read.

I shamelessly gave up on that book and moved on. I read Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, which was definitely good but ultimately more suited to analysis and discussion than pure enjoyment.

Then, it happened.

I started The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury. And I fell in love.

[Just to clarify, I’m not talking about The Martian of the recent Matt Damon movie. I reviewed that book here.]

The book started out funny and slightly strange. It escalated to full-on poetic beauty by the end. Bradbury is the master of short stories, and is even more the master of short stories that connect in a larger, poignant narrative.

Sigh.

If you too, dear reader, are suffering through a lackluster book like I was – don’t stay in that bad relationship. Move on.

You will find a better love.

 

2 thoughts on “Eureka! Falling in Love Again.

  1. I read The Martian Chronicals years ago when I was in high school and had forgotten all about it until you talked about it. Thank you for reminding me of it. If I can find any time to read I’ll have to pick that one up again.

Leave a Reply

