Unthematically Wandering

One of the top tips on How to Have a Successful Blog (a topic covered many times, in many forms) is: Specification. Be focused. Have a thing. Your schtick. Food blogger. Mommy blogger. Political blogger. Travel blogger. People will follow you for your focus, not your writing.

The problem is, I’ve never been good at focusing.

I dabble. I jack all trades. I rove in whichever direction I damn well please.

This becomes a problem when I have things I need to get done. In the creative realm, though, I get to be me. I get to draw avidly one week, and be a musician the next. I write fiction in NaNoWriMo and write non-fiction on my blog (and do technical writing at work). I swap from swimming to dance and back to swimming again. I can be all over the place, which is what a very essential part of what my soul needs.

So while I’d very much like to see my blog grow, for professional reasons, I just can’t rein it in. I need this freedom too much. If I had a thematic blog, I’d probably never write on it (I’ve tried before). And what I need, personally, in this season, is the free impetus to write, create, write, create.

One week I might write political commentary. The next I might write a humor piece. Or a book review. Or divulge a personal struggle. If you’ve chosen to follow this blog, I hope you enjoy a good wander. Because I have no idea where I’m going next.

d5386-img_2952

One thought on “Unthematically Wandering

Leave a Reply

