Somebody’s Black Bean Brownies

Again, I am going to post about how I used somebody else’s recipe and changed it slightly. I found this recipe (via Pinterest) on Food.com. You can find the original there! Kudos and thank you to the user who shared it.

I eat kind of gluten-free and completely dairy free, and my roommates also eat gluten-free and dairy-free, and one also only eats natural (/unprocessed) sugars. Therefore, we are all about the weird, alternative, and delicious recipes. Flourless brownies made out of black beans? Why not!

The first time I made the recipe I did as commenters suggested: I added 1/2 teaspoon each of baking soda and baking powder. I mixed the batter entirely in my food processor.

What resulted was light, chocolatey…cake. Cake. I don’t know your philosophy of brownie but mine is not cake. I immediately went into research mode, to find out how I could make the brownies less cake and more fudge – like they’re supposed to be.

I am pretty pleased with the result. Rich, deep, chocolatey, fudgy, melty brownies. You’d never in a million years think they were black beans.

My modified version is below.

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit/175 Celsius

Ingredients:

1 can low-sodium black beans (rinsed and drained, very important!)
2 1/2 Tablespoons fake butter, melted
1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted
2 eggs and 2 egg yolks, slightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 pinch salt
1/2 (or more) semi-sweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup sugar*

After you rinse the black beans, pour them into the food processor along with the butter and oil and process until creamy. Then pour the mixture into a mixing bowl and add the rest of the ingredients. Make sure you mix well enough to combine everything. Pour into a greased 8×8 pan and stick in the oven, probably for 30 minutes but check it at 25. After you remove it, let it sit for 10 or 15 minutes, as long as you can stand it…then dig in and enjoy! If they’re still hot they’ll be quite gooey, but if you let them cool completely they’ll have a soft, fudgy texture.

*I made them once with 1/2 cup coconut sugar and 1/2 cup honey. They were plenty sweet but if you go this route I suggest pure maple syrup instead of honey: the honey gave them a distinctly fruity taste

photo actually by me this time
photo actually by me this time
Leave a Reply

