Ballet, week 2

For about an hour at ballet tonight I felt like a hapless fool. The huge mirror wall doesn’t help: here, let me show you every small mistake you are making, and all the big mistakes, and how you can’t make your body make the shape it’s supposed to.

I am learning 2 unexpected lessons: 1, which God has already been teaching me, is how to take advice. I am terrible at taking advice. I’ll probably go into that more in a later post. 2, is how not to hate my body.

Learning…not quite yet learnt.

Then for maybe 30 blessed, panting minutes, I did ok. I arabesqued and glided and even did a few decent grande jetes. And I felt – dare I say it – just a little bit floaty.

Leave a Reply

