News I Care About

I browse the news on the internet almost daily. With Google News I can kind of direct the categories of news I see, like…less about sports, more about global news. But it’s not a perfect system, and I guess choosing only to see certain types of news would foster narrow-mindedness and blindness.

Tonight, what’s on the news?

Philip Seymour Hoffman’s apparent overdose, the Superbowl, which Superbowl commercial is the most heartwarming, the Chris Christie scandal/controversy, a bomb that went off in Syria, the Thai elections and surrounding protests, the ongoing protests in Ukraine, the apparent torture of a Ukrainian protest leader.

Tell you what I don’t care about…the Superbowl or the Chris Christie thing.

I do care about Philip Seymour Hoffman, though it might be tempting to juxtapose his affluent life with the struggles of others and assume that he didn’t know suffering. Obviously he did know suffering. He knew enough suffering to struggle with drug addiction and eventually succumb to it, despite his extremely successful career and the high regard he has within his field (acting). I don’t desire that anyone should know such despair.

Also, I care a lot about Ukraine. Though I can’t claim to fully understand the ins and outs of the upheaval that’s happening over there, I’ve been following the news about it closely and hoping for a peaceful conclusion that allows the Ukrainian people to pursue the economic success they’re capable of. The more I read about it, the more I realize how complex and intense the protest – dare I say, revolution? – is.  This is no Occupy Wall Street. This is the aftermath of the Iron Curtain.

I care about Syria, even if the rest of the United States has forgotten the ongoing violence, displacement, and death.

I care about Thailand, even if the rest of the United States isn’t even aware that anything is going on there.

Leave a Reply

