The Journey HOME

In yesterday’s roller coaster of anxiety, relief, and joy, I completely forgot about my blogging challenge until I curled up in my bed – my bed.  Priorities.

I spent the first half of the day split between getting to know my new friends and obsessing anxiously over road conditions and temperature.  It never even got to 30 Fahrenheit, but when I saw that the sun had melted the snow on the street outside, I wanted to take my chance.

I am ever so grateful to Mark and Sherry, my rescuers, and the warm, kind refuge they gave me.

There were a few icy patches getting out of their neighborhood, and lots of idiotic people walking in the middle of the road, but the main obstacle on the roads home was the abandoned cars.

I understand why people abandoned their cars.  Safer than trying to drive on ice and ending up in a ditch, or in the Cahaba river, like some cars did.  But there were way too many cars literally in the middle of the road, or sticking nose or rear out into the lane.

Still, people do what they have to do to get out of the way of danger.  I just hope all the cars’ drivers were/are safe.

Because of the abandoned car issue, one mile on the interstate took about 45 minutes.  We had to weave around cars and then wait for emergency services to clear a wreck.  I passed literally (literally, not figuratively) hundreds of abandoned cars.  The rest of my drive was clear, though, and I made it almost all the way home with no problem.

The last mile to my apartment is a downhill residential street that curves and is almost completely in the shade.  I got to the top of that hill and saw it was still covered in snow.  People were towing cars out of ditches.  I did not trust my Southern driving skills.

I had an option, though.  I drove about 1/10 of a mile in the other direction to my friends’ house, parked in their yard, and knocked on the door to ask them if I could leave my car there and just walk home.

Good friends don’t let you walk home if they can help it.  They’d already been down and up the road to my place, in their Jeep, and they’re Northerners.

I left my car there and they drove me home.

Home.

I felt like my journey deserved the most dramatic entrance ever, so I threw open the door and yelled “I’m HOOOOMME!”

Conveniently, “There can be miracles, when you believe” from The Prince of Egypt was blasting on the Bose, and my roommates obliged me with shouts and hugs and jumping.

We made chicken soup and sweet potato fries and brownies and I curled up on the couch under a blanket and we talked for a long time, like it had been ages since we’d been together, instead of 30 hours.

I love my cozy home.

I hope everyone can make it back to their cozy homes today.

home

One thought on “The Journey HOME

  1. Yeah! I am glad you are home. My friend that spent two nights with us is home as well today! We cherished our talks in our pajamas and made good meals together! ( and red wine)! Love you!

Leave a Reply

